Elect Dan Abel for St Johns County Commission District 4

City appoints visioning steering committee

December 19, 2013 | By More

ROXANNE HORVATHHistoric City News was notified of the names of the 15 appointees to the latest citizen committee, a “visioning” steering committee; selected from among the residential, business and institutional communities of the city. The organizational meeting, being held on Thursday, January 9th, will start at 3:00 p.m. in The Alcazar Room at City Hall.

The community-wide visioning project was the topic of two city commission workshops last fall; where City Commissioner Roxanne Horvath, who brought the proposal to the table, was selected to serve as its chairman. All committee meetings will be open to the public.

The appointees, not all of whom are city residents, are:

Jeannette Berk
Cathy Brown
Vaughn Cochran
Rob DePiazza
Linda Dixon
Phillip McDaniel
Jan Miller
Grant Misterly
Rhey Palmer
Jeanne Prickett
Pat Reilly
Tracy Upchurch
Len Weeks
Greg White
Andy Witt

Each of the five city commissioners was permitted to appoint three members to the visioning steering committee. They will serve as volunteers without compensation.

Those wishing additional information on the city’s current visioning initiative, including agendas and minutes of the commission’s workshops on the topic, access to the city’s last visioning project in 1995, and a variety of related studies and strategic plans, should visit http://www.visionstaug.com

Those wishing to receive information on the progress of the initiative should email vision@citystaug.com with “Vision” in the subject line.

Category: Government

historiccity facebook twitter linkedin