POLITICS IN ST JOHNS

Library selects The Yard for St Johns Reads

January 6, 2013 | By More

400-THE-YARDHarold George reported to Historic City News that the St Johns County Public Library System has chosen Alex Grecian’s “The Yard” as this year’s “St Johns Reads” book.

A tale of murder, forensics and the teeming mysteries of Victorian London, The Yard takes the reader to a world where criminology was a new science and fear and depravity lurked just below the surface of 19th century civilized London society.

A new squad of detectives has been created in response to the bloody crimes of Jack the Ripper, and this “Murder Squad” begins to lose its own members to a new serial killer. “Jack was the first of a new breed,” Sir Edward Bradford, the police commissioner who created this elite division, remarks. “He opened a door to certain deranged possibilities and there will be more like him.”

From Alex Grecian’s official website: “In The Yard Alex Grecian offers a meticulously researched vision of the bustling city of London, which teems with Dickensian color. With a masterful talent for storytelling, he weaves multiple narratives that converge in a heart-stopping climax. Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, The Yard is a spectacular debut in a new series showcasing the depravity of the late Victorian city, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Jed Rubenfeld.”

The Yard is now available for reservation and checkout. The library has created a full slate of programming at each location for the month of February, centered on the reading and enjoyment of this exciting mystery. From book talks to films and programs about the Victorian Language of Flowers, there will be something for everyone! The big finale will be an appearance by Alex Grecian himself, on Saturday, February 23 at the County Auditorium.

To learn more about The Yard, or to get further details about the full month of programming for St Johns Reads, contact your local library or visit the library’s website at http://www.sjcpls.com.

© 2013, HISTORIC CITY NEWS. All rights reserved.

Category: Entertainment

historiccity facebook twitter linkedin