Vinnie Russo recognized with Guy White Award


400-SHOAR-RUSSO-AWARDSHistoric City News was informed that this year St Johns County Sheriff David Shoar recognized Deputy Vinnie Russo with one of the agency’s highest honors during the 29th Annual Awards Banquet Friday evening at the World Golf Village Convention Center.

Russo was selected for the Deputy Guy White Award; given to a law enforcement or corrections deputy who has excelled in their position for the entire year — not for a single event.

Deputy White was called to investigate a disturbance involving the Carlton brothers aboard a Florida East Coast passenger train in Espanola; which, at that time, was part of St Johns County. White deputized a private citizen, Abe Schneider, to assist him in quelling the disturbance. Both men were gunned down on March 5, 1911. White and Schneider were the first known St Johns County lawmen killed in the line of duty.

The Sheriff’s Office also recognizes citizens who have rendered aid or given assistance to a law enforcement officer during the performance of his duties with the “Abe Schneider Award”. This year, Johnny Calderon, Joseph Linebach, Tyler Messenger, Tobias Settle, and Ed Martin were the recipients.

Sheriff Shoar honored several deputies who were engaged in combat with an armed adversary by presenting them with a combat medal. They were presented to Sergeants Glenn Lappe and David Tarbert, along with Deputies Paul Clark, Thomas Coward, Angelo Rosado, Jr., Scott Stokes and Michael Williams.

Numerous other awards were presented to law enforcement deputies, corrections deputies, civilian employees, and several individuals outside of the agency for their leadership or for assisting law enforcement.

Four individuals received a Community Partnership award from Sheriff Shoar for their efforts in advancing and assisting law enforcement. They were Margo Pope, Patrick Morrisey, Tom and Ann Robert, and Kent Stermon.

Let us know what you think >>