Candidates asked tourism-related policy questions


300-Flagler-AuditoriumOn Monday, August 4, Historic City News readers are invited to attend a free Candidate Forum, hosted by tourism industry businesses in St Johns County. When you register, you will have the opportunity to submit a question of interest to you.

This special election-year event will offer a unique forum for candidates seeking election and re-election to St. Johns County, the City of St. Augustine and the City of St. Augustine Beach Commission seats to discuss issues affecting the local tourism industry with industry leaders and employees.

If you plan to attend, the event is free and open to the public. Registration is requested. To register or to submit a question for the candidates, visit the upcoming events page at The activities are planned from 5:00 p.m. until 7:30 p.m. on the Flagler College campus, in the Lewis Auditorium located at 14 Granada Street in St Augustine.

The St. Augustine Attractions Association, will jointly present the forum together with the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce, Tourism and Hospitality Council, the Florida’s Historic Coast Visitors and Convention Bureau, and is sponsored by Flagler College, Tour St. Augustine, the Oldest Wooden Schoolhouse and the Fountain of Youth.

Candidates who have indicated they will participate as of July 29 include:

County Commissioner- District 2
Ron Sanchez
Jeb Smith

County Commissioner- District 4
Dan Abel
Denver Cook
Jay Morris

City of St. Augustine- Seat 3/ Mayor
Joe Boles
Ken Bryan
Nancy Shaver

City of St. Augustine- Seat 4
Ron Berben
Todd D. Neville
John Valdes

City of St. Augustine – Seat 5
Grant Misterly
Nancy Sikes-Kline

This special election event will offer individuals working in our local tourism industry the opportunity to learn more about candidates seeking election and re-election to St. Johns County, City of St. Augustine & City of St. Augustine Beach Commission seats. Complimentary refreshments will be served from 5:00 p.m. until 5:30 p.m. The forum will be a panel-style discussion format in which candidates will be asked tourism-related policy questions.