Employees of the Year for County Schools


Dr. Joseph Joyner told local Historic City News reporters that St Johns County’s “school-related employees” enhance the educational experience for the children whose lives they touch, and they are essential to the successful operation of a school or school district office.

This school year, 41 district employees have been selected from each of the 34 schools, along with six district representatives, and one charter school, to be honored as “School-Related Employees of the Year”

“These nominees were chosen for the significant contributions they have made in their schools and community, and to the school district as a whole,” Joyner said.

A list of the 2013-2014 School-Related Employees of the Year is below.

Jill Bullard, Academic Services Department
Michael Ciruzzi, Bartram Trail High School
Susan Wyatt, Creekside High School
David Turlington, John A Crookshank Elementary School
Angela Bellaw, Cunningham Creek Elementary School
Danielle Cook, Community Relations Department
Janise Jan Phillips, Durbin Creek Elementary School
Charles Veitinger, First Coast Technical College
Francis Fab Durnin, Fruit Cove Middle School
Andres Vega-Victoria, Gaines Alternative and Transition Schools
William Vaughn, W D Hartley Elementary School
Donna Kay Moser, Hickory Creek Elementary School
Denise Liedtke, Human Resources Department
Waynette Abbatinozzi, R B Hunt Elementary School
Adrian Stasky, Information Technology Department
Lisa North, Julington Creek Elementary School
Michelle Moore, Ketterlinus Elementary School
Diane Melnyk, Alice B Landrum Middle School
Wynton Hardy, Liberty Pines Academy
Sylvia Gumble, Otis A Mason Elementary School
Teresa Cleary, Pedro Menendez High School
Sandra Pearson, Mill Creek Elementary School
Ida Green Wright, R J Murray Middle School
Beth Newell, Allen D Nease High School
Jeanne Bischoff, Ocean Palms Elementary School
Megan Oxborough, Osceola Elementary School
Jack Blocker, Pacetti Bay Middle School
Marly Picard, Palencia Elementary School
Nicole Jutte, Ponte Vedra High School
Connie Smith, PVPV/Rawlings Elementary School
Kendall Hardwick, Gamble Rogers Middle School
Raymond Almonte, St Augustine High School
Shirley Smith, St Johns Technical High School
Christine Solana, Sebastian Middle School
Ellie Pierce, South Woods Elementary School
Yvonne Ross, Student Services Department
Nereida DiDeo, Switzerland Point Middle School
Constance Woida, Timberlin Creek Elementary School
Linda Hickey, Transportation Department
William Britton, Wards Creek Elementary School
Tammy Witt, The Webster School

Only one name, however, will be submitted to the state to compete at the regional level, and that employee’s name will not be announced until a reception to honor all of the nominees on Tuesday, April 15th at 6:00 p.m. at First Coast Technical College.

Criteria for the award includes exemplary job performance, dedication on the job, interpersonal skills, leadership ability, in-service training to upgrade skills and contributions to the school and school district environment.