City Commission presents citizenship awards

Citizenship Awards
Presentations of Citizenship Awards to area high school students were made during the Monday, June 9th City Commission meeting according to a media release received by Historic City News this morning.

A graduating senior from each of St. Johns County’s high schools received the St. Augustine City Commission Citizenship Award at the commission’s meeting Monday. Each student received a city lapel pin, a plaque, and $100 to help defray costs associated with higher education pursuits.

Pictured left to right following the presentation of the awards are:

• Kenneth H. Love, Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind/Deaf Department;
• Cagney Carbone, Pedro Menendez High School;
• Sarah Chapman, Bartram Trail High School;
• Sarah R. Pane, St. Augustine High School;
• Tory Polwin, St. Joseph Academy; and
• Christian Axen, St. Johns Technical High School.

Recipients of the award who were unable to attend and not pictured are:

• Jessica Dawn Drawhorn, Allen D. Nease High School; and
• Jasper Lorenzo Hardy, Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind/Blind Department.

Photo credit: Media photograph – City of St. Augustine Office of Public Affairs

Share your thoughts with our readers >>