County Commissioners sworn into office

The new county auditorium was full as Historic City News and others watched two new members and one re-elected incumbent of the St. Johns County Board of County Commissioners sworn into office this morning.

New Commissioners Mark P. Miner and Ken Bryan will represent District 3 and District 5, respectively, and Commissioner Cyndi Stevenson will continue to represent District 1.

All three were given Oaths of Office during the Board’s Reorganization Meeting by the Honorable John M. Alexander, Administrative Judge of St. Johns County.

The newly seated Board of County Commissioners then unanimously elected Commissioner Cyndi Stevenson as Chair and Commissioner Ron Sanchez, who represents District 2, as Vice-Chair for 2009.

Prior to the new Commissioners being sworn in, County Administrator Michael D. Wanchick recognized outgoing Commissioners Ben Rich and Jim Bryant and thanked them for their years of public service. Commissioner Rich represented District 3 for four years and Commissioner Bryant represented District 5 for twelve years.

The next regular meeting of the Board of County Commissioners is scheduled for Tuesday, December 2, at 9:00 am in the County Auditorium.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>