Blayne Barber wins St. Augustine Amateur

Blayne Barber of Lake City, Florida won the St. Augustine Amateur by three strokes. Barber shot 39-35 ~ 74 today to for a three-day total of 210, which is even par for the weekend.

“I went into today planning on just broadening the lead. But I shot four over on the front nine so I had to really play well after that,” said Barber of his round today.

Barber is a sophomore at Auburn University, where he transferred after one year at the University of Central Florida.

Wesley Graham of Port Orange, Florida, who posted a one over par 36-35 ~ 71 today for his three day total of 213 came in second place. Graham is a sophomore at Florida State University.

Bill Jones of Covington, Georgia trailed Graham by one stroke at the end with a 70-72-72 ~ 214 finish.

Jones, who played in the second to last group today, was only one over par for the tournament after the fifteenth hole, giving players in the group behind him a reason to take note.

Barber commented, “I heard a guy in front of me was playing well so I was conscious of that but I was just trying to focus on beating the guys I was playing with and let the others take care of themselves. I was trying not to worry about them too much.”

After Barber won the tournament he said, “I’m relieved. It was a struggle out there. The conditions were tough and I wasn’t playing my best, so it was a relief to be getting that over with.”

Duke Butler from Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida was the low mid-amateur with a 73-74-74 ~ 221 total.

Butler is the current Jacksonville Amateur champion.

At the awards ceremony, a check for $13,500 was presented to The First Tee of St. Johns County. The First Tee provides young people of all backgrounds an opportunity to develop life-enhancing values such as confidence, perseverance and judgment through golf and character education.

The low score of the day were even par 70’s shot by Namsub Padung of Bangkok, Thailand, Hap Kaufold from Vidalia, Georgia, Chris Burke from Jacksonville, Florida, and Kentaro Toyota from Lutz, Florida.

The tournament is designed for better amateur players and is 54 holes, stroke play. It is played at the St. Johns Golf Club and net proceeds benefit The First Tee of St. Johns County.

The 2009 St. Augustine Amateur
Hosted by: St. Johns Golf Club
Gross Scores

1 Blayne Barber 69-67-74–210
2 Wesley Graham 69-73-71–213
3 Bill Jones III 70-72-72–214
T4 Mu Hu 68-73-74–215
Namsub Padung 72-73-70–215
T6 Jake Amos 72-73-72–217
Erik Downs 77-68-72–217
Hap Kaufold 72-75-70–217
9 Don Sciotto 78-67-75–220
T10 Duke Butler IV 73-74-74–221
Kevin Grabeman 68-75-78–221
Andreas Hartoe 79-70-72–221
Hojin Kang 72-78-71–221
14 Andrew Cho 74-73-75–222
T15 Michael Assey 73-74-76–223
Blaine Woodruff 74-73-76–223
T17 Chris Kennedy 72-78-74–224
Han Kim 72-77-75–224
David Palm 74-74-76–224
Jacobo Pastor 74-74-76–224
T21 Chris Burke 77-78-70–225
Jeffery Cammon 79-70-76–225
Peter Croonquist 80-74-71–225
Drew Czuchry 75-74-76–225
Thomas Stewart 75-78-72–225
T26 Rasmus Lykke-Kjeldsen 77-75-74–226
Chris Malec 72-74-80–226
T28 Nate Mosby 79-74-74–227
ZiTing Wang 78-71-78–227
T30 ZhongYang Fu 76-76-76–228
Zach Hartman 70-78-80–228
Patrick Lamb 77-73-78–228
Thomas Murtagh 76-74-78–228
Seth Parmer 77-76-75–228
Michael Rafalowicz 73-81-74–228
T36 Justin Dean 71-78-80–229
Richard Francis 73-79-77–229
Scott Jones 78-74-77–229
Ben Purdue 77-74-78–229
T40 Dominic Bozzelli 70-76-84–230
Joshua Lee 76-78-76–230
Tim O’Neal 75-77-78–230
Marcus Plunkett 77-78-75–230
44 Marcel Puyat 75-79-77–231
45 Thad Hudgens 76-83-73–232
T46 Ben Adelberg 74-77-82–233
Chris Johnson 85-75-73–233
Tommy Kayworth 74-81-78–233
Bryan Lloyd 76-75-82–233
50 Kevin Phelan 82-74-78–234
T51 Major Forbess 71-82-82–235
JP Kircher 76-77-82–235
Brent Shaw 84-70-81–235
Brendan Sheehan 79-77-79–235
55 Kentaro Toyota 78-88-70–236
T56 Oliver Gilmartin 78-76-83–237
Nicholas Torrance 82-77-78–237
Ed Waller 77-80-80–237
Arthur Zelmati 81-78-78–237
T60 Brad Arrington 78-79-81–238
Zachary Balit 85-79-74–238
62 Andrew Kayworth 80-82-77–239
T63 Spencer Schindler 80-78-82–240
Peter Sterner 79-77-84–240
T65 Jacob Davidson 78-74-89–241
Michael Murray 79-78-84–241
67 Tony Parkhurst 75-83-85–243
68 Andrew Birchall 87-79-80–246
69 David Sanders 74-70-DQ–DQ
T70 MJ Maguire 76-75-WD–WD
Jim Ross 79-77-WD–WD

Let us know what you think >>