Navy League celebrates 35th anniversary

St. Augustine Navy League President Bill Korach told local Historic City News reporters that during last month’s meeting, six of the original thirty-two members who chartered the local council of the national organization, were guests of the league as they celebrated their 35th anniversary.

Of the surviving charter members, six civic-minded citizens were recognized; including John Bailey, Stuart Craig, Fred Green, Arthur Runk, Don Tully and Herbie Wiles.

Past-presidents Ralph Crews, Rob Ballinger, Dan Suttelle, David Sullivan and Bill Dudley were also recognized for their service.

Speaker for the celebration was Cmdr. Scott M. Smith, USN, the commanding officer of USS Klakring (FFG 42) — one of the St. Augustine Navy League’s three adopted warships.

Smith extended his appreciation on behalf of the 200-member crew for the generosity of the St. Augustine Navy League and contribution of the St. Augustine merchants who make possible the complimentary, reward weekends here for the sailors, chosen as “Klakring’s best”.

According to Korach, the St. Augustine Navy League has adopted 11 units — including three Navy warships, the Blount Island Marines, VR 58 Sunseekers aviation squadron, Coast Guard’s sector Jacksonville and Coast Guard’s drug interdiction helicopter squadron, four Junior ROTC units and now the Sea Cadets for young people ages 13 to 17.

For information about the St. Augustine Navy League, visit their website

Share your thoughts with our readers >>