Three city commission seats are in play

As we go into qualifying week for three open seats on the St. Augustine City Commission, local Historic City News readers will be watching with interest as candidates come forward to officially throw their hats into the ring.

Last week, two city residents, Charles J. Hennessey and Dutcher Register, filed papers with the St. Johns County Supervisor of Elections office to compete for City Commission Seat 5; the seat currently held by Nancy Sikes-Kline.

Also up for re-election on the City Commission in August will be Joseph L. Boles, Jr., who holds the two-year Mayor Seat 3.

Seat 4 Commissioner Don Crichlow has decided not to run for re-election. William Lavern Leary has announced that he will run for that seat.

Candidates will be circulating petitions and assembling the required papers in the coming days before the deadline at noon on Friday.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>