Commission reassigns committees and boards

The St. Augustine City Commission wrapped up 2010 with two important tasks that were reported to Historic City News – assignment of commissioners to local area boards and review of commission-appointed committees.

Commissioners appointed to area boards represent the city and bring back to the commission updates from those boards.

Mayor Joe Boles will continue to represent the city on the Tourist Development Council, and Commissioner Nancy Sikes-Kline on the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization.

Vice Mayor Leanna Freeman will serve on the Sister Cities Association and County Intergovernmental Committee, Commissioner Errol Jones with the Visitor & Convention Bureau, and Commissioner Bill Leary takes over for retired Commissioner Don Crichlow on the Northeast Regional Planning Council.

The Historic Preservation Advisory Committee was a provision of the legislation that authorized city management of 34 state-owned historic properties in St. Augustine. That management was turned over to the University of Florida in 2010, so, the citizen committee was terminated.

The Parking & Traffic Committee that meets monthly to discuss traffic improvement efforts was also terminated. There are plans to re-establish this committee later this year with appointments by each sitting commissioner.

The Entry Corridor Review panel was continued. The panel meets as necessary to review concerns with the corridor guidelines. The members are selected from the Planning and Zoning Board and Historic Architectural Review Board.

Photo credits: © 2011 Historic City News contributed photograph by Lindsay Wiles Gramana

Share your thoughts with our readers >>