County Commission calls reorganization meeting

Historic City News readers will learn Tuesday morning who will be our new Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners when a Special Reorganization Meeting convenes at 9:00 a.m. in the St. Johns County Auditorium located at 500 San Sebastian View in St. Augustine.

St. Johns County Attorney Patrick F. McCormack will instruct the commissioners on the nominating procedures for the election of County Commission Chair and Vice Chair, the nominations and elections will follow.

District 3 commissioner Mark P. Miner currently serves as Vice Chair and is the only commissioner up for re-election who has not already served in the honorary position.

Commissioner Ron Sanchez, District 2, and Jay Morris, District 4, are one year into their four-year terms and do not run for re-election in 2012. Sanchez has already served as Chair during his first term.

All county commissioners serve countywide and share an equal vote on all issues before the Board. A commissioner can serve more than once as Chair or Vice-Chair, however, it is likely that Miner will be elevated to Chair and Morris to Vice-Chair, based on past custom.

This is the only matter on the agenda for the Special Meeting; aside from the traditional presentation of service awards to the past officers.

The newly elected Chairman will call their first regular business meeting to order immediately following adjournment of the Special Meeting.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>