Flagler College held first Honors Day


Priscilla Proctor reported to Historic City News that on April 12th in the Flagler College Auditorium, a new tradition was born when the private college held its first “Honors Day” to reward seniors who best represent their chosen majors in terms of academics, citizenship, service and spirit of the major.

The Student Life Committee at Flagler College helped to organize the Honors Day project. The Committee consists of faculty, administrators and student representatives. The idea for Honors Day was conceived by Alan Woolfolk, Ph.D., dean of Academic Affairs at Flagler College.

María Jose Maguire, assistant professor of Spanish, Spanish advisor and chair of the Student Life Committee, said that every one of the students awarded has done an amazing job.

To be eligible for an Honors Day award, seniors must have 90-plus credit hours.

Flagler College graduating seniors who received Honors Day awards:

• Accounting, Ian Waterhouse

• Business Administration, Ian Waterhouse

• Communication, Michael Strasburger

• Economics, Katherine Phillips and Frederica Sehlmeyer

• Education, Morgan Hill

• English, Megan Parker

• Fine Arts, Amelia Eldridge

• Graphic Design, Tony Sasso

• History, Jillian McClure

• Latin American Studies, Ellen Gambrell

• Liberal Arts, Ellen Gambrell

• Philosophy/Religion, Jared Smith

• Political Science, Patrick Ferguson

• Psychology, Margaret Rudd

• Sociology, Sarah Zambor

• Spanish, Bautista Cruz-Thomas

• Sport Management, James Thivierge

• Theatre Arts, Carl Liberatore

“The students who received awards are those [students] who we felt stood out and have gone beyond the call of duty in their major,” she said. “Many of the students chosen for awards are very involved with the community as well. I originally met with Dean Woolfolk to see what his vision would be for Honors Day, and in the future, we are hoping to make it an all-day event.”

The Flagler College Student Government Association (SGA) also presented awards to the faculty, staff and administration of the college.

The Faculty of the Year Award went to Rachel Cremona, associate professor of political science and director of Learning Communities. The Administrator of the Year Award went to Yvan J. Kelly, associate dean of Academic Affairs, and the Staff of the Year Award went to Sonia Jorge.


Let us know what you think >>