Sheriff Shoar elected association treasurer

Historic City News learned that the 67 member Florida Sheriff’s Association met in Daytona Beach this week for their annual summer conference; united in purpose and voice, for the protection of Florida’s citizens and visitors.

St. Johns County Sheriff David B. Shoar, who served as Chairman of the Board of Directors last year, will continue his service to the not-for-profit corporation as their Treasurer during the coming fiscal year. Shoar was elected and installed at the closing ceremonies Tuesday evening.

“We have been leaders in accreditation, taking care of our youth and providing training that directly affects the quality of law enforcement in our local communities,” Shoar said of the hundred year-old organization. “This past year, the Florida Sheriffs Association reached a new milestone by creating a comprehensive strategic plan to guide us into the future.”

Other officers elected for the 2011-2012 term are:

President, Volusia County Sheriff Ben Johnson
Vice President, Highland’s County Sheriff Susan Benton
Secretary, Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd
Treasurer, Sheriff Shoar
Past President, Hamilton County Sheriff Harrell Reid

The 67 voting members of the Association are the sixty-six elected sheriffs as well as the appointed chief law-enforcement officer in Dade County; who holds the title “Director” of the Miami-Dade Police Department.

Non-voting honorary, business and law-enforcement members, as well as many other supportive citizens around the state, have been responsible for seeing the Florida Sheriffs Association grow; from a fledgling organization founded in 1893, to one of the largest and most successful state law-enforcement associations in the nation that includes nearly 3,500 business leaders and 130,000 private citizens.

Photo credits: © 2011 Historic City News staff photographer

Share your thoughts with our readers >>