Sikes-Kline named Planning Organization treasurer

Public Affairs Manager Marci A. Larson, reported to Historic City News this morning that the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization has elected St. Augustine Commissioner Nancy Sikes-Kline treasurer and Planning and Building Director Mark Knight vice-chairman of the Technical Coordinating Committee for 2012.

Sikes-Kline succeeds Atlantic Beach Mayor Mike Borno; who represents the three beach communities and has now been elected vice-chairman of the organization.

Nassau County Commissioner Danny Leeper is chairman for 2012; succeeding Clay County Commissioner Doug Conkey — who served two terms.

In addition, two committees elected their leadership for 2012.

Scott Herring, Nassau County Engineering, was elected chairman of the Technical Coordinating Committee. The committee is primarily comprised of planners and engineers who represent various local governments within the organization’s boundaries who evaluate the technical sufficiency, accuracy and viability of proposed plans.

The Citizens Advisory Committee re-elected Melinda Luedtke, a Nassau County citizen, as chairman and Barney Roberts, a Duval County citizen, vice chairman. Luedtke, who has a background in transportation finance, has served one term as chairman. The committee is a volunteer body of residents and business people who review transportation plans from a community perspective.

The North Florida TPO handles a wide range of initiatives and projects that include the long range transportation plan; a Transportation Improvement Program; Commuter Services car and vanpool program; freight mobility and congestion management studies; coalitions for Intelligent Transportation Systems and Clean Cities; forums on integrating land use and transportation, public private partnerships, global trade and transportation, to name a few.

The organization is governed by a 15-member board of elected officials and transportation agency representatives.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>