Miner leaves Bryan returns as Chairman

Historic City News in St Augustine has learned that today, following the departure of Commissioner Mark Miner to attend Warrant Officer Flight Training, the St Johns County Board of Commissioners has appointed Commissioner Ken Bryan to act as interim chairman until the end of November 2012; at which time the Board will appoint a new chair.

Protocol normally dictates that the Vice Chairman, Jay Morris, would be the next to serve in the honorary position — but, instead, Morris, who represents Ponte Vedra Beach District 2, nominated Bryan; who was elected unanimously.

In his interim role, Chairman Bryan will be charged with facilitating the business of the Board and the Board meetings, executing all rules and policies governing the Board, and signing all ordinances enacted and resolutions adopted by the Board.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>