The St Johns County School District is asking Historic City News readers in St Augustine and St Johns County to register their kindergarten-age children and returning students to the school system before school starts on August 20.
Even though elementary and middle schools are currently operating out of their area high school, parents may contact schools at their regular phone number to register their children. Parents are also able to go to the high school to register their children. The schools are currently operating Monday through Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
To be eligible for kindergarten, children must be 5 years old on or before September 1 and must reside in St. Johns County. To register for first grade, children must be 6 years old on or before September 1 and have successfully completed kindergarten.
The child’s certified birth certificate is required at the time of registration and only the legal name is acceptable on student records. In addition, parents should bring two proofs of residency: current utility bill, lease or mortgage statement. Florida law also requires any student entering a Florida school for the first time to show proof of certain immunizations and physical examinations.
A physical examination that has been performed within one year prior to enrollment in school will be accepted. Physical examinations can be acquired from a private physician or from the county health department.
In addition, there will be a registration day on Saturday July 28, from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Ponce de Leon Mall for Crookshank, Ketterlinus, Osceola, and Otis Mason elementary schools as well as The Webster School.
Parents should visit the individual schools’ websites for registration information.
Additional information on registration and school attendance zones can be obtained from the Student Services Office at 547-7598.