Sheriff recognizes staff with service awards

St Johns County Sheriff David Shoar recognized many members of the agency on Friday, March 2nd at the 28th Annual Awards Banquet held at the World Golf Village Convention Center.

Among those honored, Deputy Napoleon Staggers was recognized as “Rookie” Deputy of the Year — the Joshua E. Blyler Award was presented to Staggers by the late Deputy Blyler’s parents.

The Chris Dale Award was presented to Corrections Deputy Gerald Dalager, III as “Rookie” Corrections Officer of the Year.

Sheriff Shoar honored Richard “Dick” Lauginiger posthumously, who worked as a volunteer at the Sheriff’s Office from 1996-2007.

In 2007, Dick Lauginiger was hired as a Public Service Assistant and remained in that position until he passed away, last year.

Dick Lauginiger was known for his positive attitude and his willingness to assist in any way.

Sheriff Shoar presented the Sheriff’s Award of Excellence to Dick Lauginiger’s wife and children.

The Deputy Guy White Award is named for the first known St. Johns County Deputy who was killed in the line of duty.

Deputy White was gunned down while investigating a disturbance on a Florida East Coast passenger train on March 5, 1911.

This award is given to a law enforcement or corrections deputy who has excelled in their position for the entire year and not for one single event.

This year Corporal Sidney Mickler was the recipient of the award for his positive attitude and excellent job performance.

In addition to his primary duties, Corporal Mickler has been the Weed and Seed Coordinator for five years.

Receiving the Captain Hazel McCormack Award was Kristine Keegan.

This award is given to a civilian employee of the Sheriff’s Office who has excelled in their position for the entire year, as well.

The Neil J. Perry Leadership Award was presented to Sergeant William “Bill” Werle.

This award is named after the former St. Johns County Sheriff who served 20 years as Sheriff and displayed outstanding leadership.

The Telecommunicator of the Year Award was presented to Corporal Mandy Dale, receiving the Explorer of the Year was Lt. Breana Bateman and the Volunteer of the Year
Award went to Mr. Jerry Zinn.

The final specialty award was the Abe Schneider Award that is presented to a citizen(s) who renders aid or assists law enforcement or a citizen in the county.

Schneider was also killed on March 5, 1911 with Deputy Guy White in Espanola. White deputized Schneider to assist him with the disturbance involving the Carlton brothers.

This year, Ms. Dottie Curtis accepted the award on behalf of Sabin Barto.

Mr. Barto pulled a victim from a burning vehicle, after a crash.

The award was also presented to Mr. Tyler Lee, who confronted a robbery suspect, chased him, and restrained him until the arrival of deputies.

The Exceptional Service Award is given to deputies who rendered service involving exceptional courage and grave personal danger in saving or attempting to save a life, or in resolving safely an immediate life-threatening situation.

They were: Sergeant Glenn Lappe, Corporal Sidney Mickler, Corporal Greg Mullinex, Deputy Ezekiel Kelly, Deputy Jacob Manning, Deputy Joseph Romer, and Deputy Samuel Sheffield.

This year the Lifesaving Award, which is given to employees who save lives by rendering aid, was presented to the following individuals: Sergeant Larry Durden, Sergeant Suzanne Hazen, Corporal Sidney Mickler, Deputy Russell Burns, Deputy Gerald J. Dalager III, Deputy Todd Delisa, Deputy Brenda Gardner, Deputy Ronald Hines, Deputy Stephen Jensen, Deputy Dale Pittenger, Deputy Jason Schwartzberg, Deputy Pedro Valdes, Deputy Kevin Walsh, Deputy Douglas Woodall, and Deputy Scott Wright.

The Meritorious Service Award is presented to an employee, who in the line of duty through diligence, unusual thoroughness or perseverance has performed a difficult task, in which the aims of law enforcement were furthered.

Those receiving the award included: Corporal Christopher Alexander, Corporal Scott Yeoman, Corporal Mandy Dale, Corporal Debra Smith, Deputy Christopher Barnes, Deputy Jeremy Huddleston, Deputy Ezekiel Kelly, Deputy Daniel Roberts, Deputy Scott Stokes, Deputy Scott Wright, Mr. Rich Burchfield, Mr. Brian Gleason, and Ms. Nadyne Sneyd.

The Sheriff’s Unit Award is presented to a unit, section, or team that has performed their duties in an excellent manner throughout the year.

This year the Clandestine Laboratory Enforcement Team received the award.

The team was recognized for their willingness to volunteer hours of demanding training and to stand ready to face the dangers that are posed as they combat methamphetamine laboratories.

The Sheriff’s Commendation Award is given to employees whose conduct and actions reflect highly and favorably on the individual and the Sheriff’s Office.

Those receiving the Sheriff’s Commendation Award were: Sergeant Glenn Lappe, Corporal Paul “Tony” Clark, Corporal Greg Mullinex, Deputy Quentin Beckton, Deputy Matthew Bellamy, Deputy Lee Bentley, Deputy Thomas Bickhart, Deputy Zachary Cooke, Deputy Farrah Faucette, Deputy Wesley Grizzard, Deputy Craig Maguire, Deputy Jacob Manning, Deputy Russell Martin, Deputy Debra Maynard, Deputy Scott O’Connell, Deputy Joseph Romer, Deputy Michael Saunders, Deputy Eric Schoenfeld, Deputy Napoleon Staggers, Deputy Edward “Bo” Strange, Deputy Melissa Swindull, Deputy Richard Thurmond, Deputy Joshua Underwood, and Deputy James Weaver.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>