Students from each high school recognized by commission

Historic City News will be watching Monday evening when the St Augustine City Commission presents Citizenship Awards to a graduating senior from each of St Johns County’s high schools; recognizing them for leadership to their school, community and other students.

The awards are presented by the city each year to students that are selected from names placed in nomination by organizations within each high school. The administration of each school makes the final decision.

The awards will be presented by the Commission during the June 11 meeting.

The 2012 Citizenship Award recipients are:

Gabrielle Garrad Allen D. Nease High School
Madelynn “Maddie” Kay Bartram Trail High School
Greta Mosteller Creekside High School
Erica Swartz Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind/Deaf Department
Katherine Wyble Pedro Menendez High School
Elizabeth Egan Ponte Vedra High School
Olivia Hutcherson St. Augustine High School
Holly Woodle St. Johns Technical High School
Matthew Corrigan St. Joseph Academy

Each student will be presented with a city lapel pin, a plaque, and a check for $100 to help defray costs of books and fees associated with higher education pursuits.

If you are planning to attend — the regular St Augustine City Commission meeting will begin at 5:00 p.m. Monday and will be held in the Alcazar Room; on the first floor of the west wing of City Hall, located at 75 King Street in St. Augustine. It will be broadcast live on Comcast Government TV (Cable Channel 3) and is streamed over the Internet.


Let us know what you think >>