TDC funding panel applicants sought

The St. Johns County Board of County Commissioners is accepting applications for residents interested in serving on the Tourist Development Council’s Arts, Culture and Heritage Funding Panel.

Their purpose is to review and evaluate proposals from St Johns County not-for-profit organizations who propose to provide programming and events of a cultural, artistic or heritage nature; to attract visitors and for the enjoyment of residents.

“The role of the funding panel is critical to the success of the Arts, Culture and Heritage funding program,” said Scott Bartosch, Chairman of the Tourist Development Council. “The Funding Panel plays an important role in St Johns County’s development as a cultural and heritage travel destination. It’s good not only for tourism but helps with other forms of economic development too,” Bartosch added.

The Funding Panel is a seven-member group made up of five St Johns County residents and two purpose-related professionals who may reside outside of St Johns County. Their deliberations include scoring each proposal on its merits, then recommending a level of funding for each proposal to the Tourist Development Council.

Additionally, the Funding Panel reviews the application process at the end of each funding cycle and may recommend changes to the Tourist Development Council and Board of County Commissioners.

The deadline to apply for the Arts, Culture and Heritage Funding Panel is May 11, 2012.

Three of the panel members will be representatives from the tourism and hospitality industry and two representing the arts, culture, and heritage industry segments. The two remaining seats will be professionals with knowledge of cultural and heritage tourism development and promotions.

To avoid any potential conflict of interest, persons serving as officers or on the board of directors of not-for-profit organizations that apply for funding through the TDC’s Funding Program are not eligible to serve on the panel.

Applications for serving on the Funding Panel or any of the twenty-two other volunteer committees or boards can be obtained by contacting Melissa Lundquist in the Commission office at 209-0300.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>