Activities and volunteer opportunities at Guana Reserve

GTM-NERR-VILANO_4380Emily Jane Murray reported upcoming adventures available to Historic City News readers beginning next week and continuing through May — all presented or sponsored by the Guana-Tolomato-Matanzas National Estuarine Research Reserve.

Most of the events are free to attend, some require a parking fee.

“New Volunteer Orientation will be held May 3 from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., and, if you are currently a volunteer at the GTM Research Reserve but haven’t been through an official orientation, you are encouraged to attend,” Volunteer Coordinator Carly Swatek told Historic City News reporters. “Attendees will receive training in all aspects of the GTM Research Reserve, learn general volunteer rules and responsibilities and take tour of the Environmental Education Center.”

If you are able to attend, please RSVP to Carly at Carly.Swatek@dep.state.fl.us by May 1.

MAY ACTIVITIES:

• Thursday, May 2; 9 – 10:30 a.m. Marineland Beach Walk
• Friday, May 3; 9 – 11:30 a.m. New Volunteer Orientation
• Saturday, May 4; 8:30 – 10:30 a.m. Guided Cultural Hike
• Saturday, May 11; 8:30 – 10:30 a.m. Second Saturday Trail Hike
• Saturday, May 11; 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. More than you wanted to know about…
• Tuesday, May 14; 5 – 6 p.m. Friends of the GTM Research Reserve Meeting
• Wednesday, May 15; 9 – 10:30 a.m. Marineland Guided Trail Hike
• Wednesday, May 15; 3 – 4 p.m. Eco Geek Series
• Saturday, May 18; 8:30 – 10:30 a.m. Guided Beach Exploration
• Tuesday, May 21; 10 – 11 a.m. Monthly Marineland Lecture – Bird Hike
• Saturday, May 25; 8:30 – 10:30 a.m. Family Seining Activity
• Thursday, May 30; 9 – 10:30 a.m. Matanzas Inlet Guided Hike

Comments

comments