Food Trucks battle it out in St Augustine

400-FOOD-TRUCK-CUSTOMERSFood Truck Crazy, based in Orlando, informed local Historic City News reporters that Mayor Joseph L. Boles, Jr., will be one of five celebrity judges when more than 24 food trucks will compete for five prestigious awards at Francis Field on July 27th.

If you’ve never visited an authentic food truck, you don’t know what you’ve been missing — and when these chuck-wagon connoisseurs compete, it’s an all-out war as they battle for the belly and recognition for Casual Cuisine; Delectable Dessert; Top food sales; Peoples Choice Award, and a Spirit Award.

Sitting in judgment with Mayor Boles will be Jim Whaples, Retired President of the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association; Chef Kareen Linton, Le Cordon Bleu/Chef Presenter; Nedal Mardini, Chef/owner of Maza New American Cuisine; and Head Chef Keith Esbin, Bar Harbor Seafood.

Admission to the event is free from 3:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. — food is ala carte from individual menus posted at each truck.  Parking is available at the Historic Downtown Parking Facility next door.  Bring a folding chair so you’ll have a place to sit.


3 p.m. Opening of event
3:30 First round eliminations begin
4 to 5 p.m Entertainment
5 p.m. Battle of the Bellys
6 p.m. Second round eliminations
6:30 to 8 p.m. Entertainment
8 p.m. Judging completed
8:30 p.m. Awards announced
9 p.m. Event closes

Competitors include:

Kona Dog Smokey J’s
Biker Georges Gourmet Grub Cowboy Jims
Rubios Baja Grill Fred & Tina’s Diner
London Fish & Chippy Nola on the Geaux
The Truck Stops Here Mayan Grill
Claw Daddys Lobster Rover Gourmet Aviator
Cafe Heavenly Galactic Freeze
Reubens Food Shop Baboyz Truck
Red Zepplin Cafe Rouge
Sandi’s Italian Ice Bem Bom
The Whip Mi Casita
Gator Country BBQ  

Share your thoughts with our readers >>