St Augustine Amateur tournament starts today


400-ST-AUGUSTINE-AMATEURHistoric City News readers are invited to enjoy a day at the St Johns Golf Club, today through October 20, while a field of 78 amateur players, whose golf resumes and tournament experience have earned them a spot, compete for the John C. Jennison III Trophy in the St Augustine Amateur.

In addition to the coveted trophy, players are awarded World Amateur Golf Ranking points. A schedule of events, and information about the players, is available by visiting Tee times will be scheduled between 9–11 a.m. each day.

This national event was established in 2004 for better amateur and collegiate players.
St Augustine Amateur past winners include Jack McGuire (2012), AJ Crouch (2011), Christopher Bray (2010), Blayne Barber (2009), Zack Sucher (2008), Danny Evelyn (2007), Peter Uihlein (2006), Arnond Vongvanij (2005), and Tyler Brown (2004)

The 54-hole stroke play event features a field of the top juniors and collegians in the southeast. Refreshments will be available for purchase. All net proceeds of the event benefit The First Tee of North Florida.

If you plan to attend, mention Historic City News. Admission and parking are free. No carts will be available. Spectators are required to wear proper golf attire at the club and on the course. Guests are permitted to bring their own chairs, yet are requested to leave coolers at home. Mobile phones must be silenced during the event.


Let us know what you think >>