St Johns County Medical Alliance Scholars 2014

400-MEDICAL-ALLIANCE-AWARDSHistoric City News citizen correspondent Jeani Taliaferro reported that the St Johns County Medical Alliance has awarded five new academic scholarships to local high school graduates pursuing their education in a medical related field of study.

This year, a total of $3,500 in scholarships was awarded; including two former scholarship recipients who received funds for continuation of their studies.

Recipients include Kelli Herrin, a graduate from Nease High School. She plans to major in nursing and will attend The University of Miami. Jessica Potts, a Bartram Trail High School graduate, plans to major in Physical Therapy and will attend High Point University, NC. Maggie Borngesser, a graduate from Bartram Trail High School, plans to major in pre-med and will attend the United States Air Force Academy. Matthew Guthrie, a graduate from Creekside High School, plans to major in biology-pre-med and will attend The University of Florida. Mimi Haley, a graduate from Ponte Vedra High School, plans to major in bio-medical science and will attend University of Central Florida

Danielle Marchanko and Hunter Green, former award winners, will receive funding for continuation of their studies (not pictured).

Every year, the St Johns County Medical Alliance, in conjunction with the St Johns County Medical Society, offers academic scholarships to graduating St Johns County high school seniors pursuing an education in pre-medicine, nursing, or allied health. Students who have received an award may reapply each year. Scholarship applicants are evaluated on academic ability, school involvement, financial need and community service.

The St Johns County Medical Alliance is comprised of spouses of St Johns County physicians. Its purpose is to promote health education, identify and address health-care needs and issues, participate in health-related legislation, and provide college scholarships to St Johns County students.

Learn more about the Medical Alliance on their website

Photo credits: © 2014 Historic City News contributed photograph by Jeani Taliaferro

Share your thoughts with our readers >>