Carter replaces Sikes-Kline on transportation planning agency

Historic City News was informed that St Augustine City Commissioner Nancy Sikes-Kline has relinquished her chair of the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization — she was replaced by Jacksonville City Council Member Doyle Carter.

Clay County Commission President Diane Hutching replaces Carter as vice-chairman through December 2016. The TPO is governed by a 15-member board of elected officials and transportation agency representatives.

The North Florida TPO is the independent regional transportation planning agency for Clay, Duval, Nassau and St. Johns counties. The agency leads our region’s efforts in planning, funding and mobilizing resources to develop and maintain our transportation system.

Plans and programs include the regional Long Range Transportation Plan; five-year Transportation Improvement Program; annual traffic count and mobility reports; coalitions for Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) and Clean Fuels; freight mobility; Cool to Pool commuter services car and vanpool program; public private partnerships; and global trade and transportation.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>