Florida Veterans Hall of Fame inducts Proctor

275-bill-proctorHistoric City News was informed that former president and chancellor of Flagler College, Dr. William L. Proctor, was one of 11 individuals inducted into the Florida Veterans Hall of Fame by Gov. Rick Scott and the Florida Cabinet. The unanimous vote for the Class of 2016 came during the September 20th Cabinet Meeting at the Capitol.

The Hall of Fame recognizes and honors those military veterans who, through their works and lives during or after military service, have made a significant contribution to the state of Florida through civic, business, public service or other pursuits. It is not a traditional military hall of fame, as it focuses on post-military contributions to the state of Florida.

Proctor served in the United States Army Reserve from 1954 to 1964 and as president of Flagler College between 1971 and 2001. In addition, he has served on Florida’s State Board of Education, as a state representative for the Florida legislature, as a chairman of the Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida association, as a member of the board of trustees of the Florida School for the Deaf and Blind and as a vice-chairman of the Florida Education Standards Commission. He is currently chancellor of Flagler College.

Other inductees to the Florida Veterans Hall of Fame include:

• Reubin O. Askew, U.S. Air Force veteran (deceased)
• LeRoy Collins, U.S. Navy veteran (deceased)
• Jordon J. “J.J.” Corbett, U.S. Army veteran
• Rear Adm. Kevin Delaney, U.S. Navy, retired (deceased)
• Lt. Col. Dennis O. Freytes, U.S. Army, retired
• David L. Goetsch, U.S. Marine Corps veteran
• Spessard L. Holland, U.S. Airman veteran (deceased)
• Col. Washington J. Sanchez Jr., U.S. Army, retired
• CMSgt. Johnny E. Stewart, U.S. Air Force, retired
• Frederick A. Taylor Jr., U.S. Army veteran

An induction ceremony to honor the eleven inductees will be held November 9th at the Florida Capitol.

Share your thoughts with our readers >>