Republicans and Democrats will vote in Presidential Preference


St Johns County Supervisor of Elections Vicky Oakes reminds Historic City News readers who are registered Republican or Democrat voters that a Presidential Preference Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, March 15, 2016.

This is a closed Primary Election is open only to Republican and Democratic voters who are registered by February 16, 2016.  Voters registered with a minor party, or who register with no party affiliation, are not eligible to vote in this election.

“Please allow up to 5 business days for delivery of your ballot if you are requesting one to be mailed,” Oakes cautioned.  “Be sure to request your absentee ballot early and return your ballot so that it is in the Elections Office by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.”

If you have not yet registered to vote in St Johns County, applications are available at the following locations:

  • Elections Office
  • Online
  • Driver’s License Offices
  • Public Libraries
  • County Government Offices
  • Public Assistance Offices
  • Armed Forces Recruitment Offices

Absentee Voters:

Your ballot must be in the Elections Office by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day to be counted.
Please allow up to 5 business days for delivery of your ballot to the Elections Office.
Red Absentee Ballot Drop Boxes will be available February 19 – March 15 at all Public Libraries, St. Augustine Beach City Hall, and the Tax Collector’s Offices in Ponte Vedra and Julington Creek.
24 Hour Drop Box— located in front of the Supervisor of Elections Office.
All Early Voting Locations during Early Voting.

Early Voters:

Vote March 5th — March 12th, Daily 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Early Voting dates include Saturdays, and one Sunday.

Early Voting Locations:

  • Supervisor of Elections Office
  • Southeast Branch Library
  • St. Augustine Beach City Hall
  • Ponte Vedra Branch Library
  • Julington Creek Annex
  • Hastings Town Hall

Election Day Voters:

The Supervisor of Elections Office is not an Election Day polling place
Absentee ballots are available in emergency situations.
Vote at the precinct listed on your voter information card.
All polling locations in St. Johns County will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day, March 15th.

Republicans will choose between:

  • Jeb Bush
  • Ben Carson
  • Chris Christie
  • Ted Cruz
  • Carly Fiorina
  • Jim Gilmore
  • Lindsey Graham
  • Mike Huckabee
  • John R. Kasich
  • Rand Paul
  • Marco Rubio
  • Rick Santorum
  • Donald J. Trump

Democrats will choose between:

  • Hillary Clinton
  • Martin O’Malley
  • Bernie Sanders

Voter assistance and additional information is available at the Election Office located at 4455 Avenue A #101 in St. Augustine, by telephone at 904.823.2238, or on their website at

Share your thoughts with our readers >>